The Verna J. Kirkness Education Foundation logo

VJKF 2024 Programs

VJKF Student looking through a microscope removing grains of sand.

VJKF student pipetting.

VJKF students do DNA swabbing.

Stay tuned...

WELCOME to our 2024 VJKF PROGRAMS!

 We're thrilled to collaborate with five of our university partners to host Programs coast to coast! We will be updating each Program Week section as information becomes available.


2024 KIRKNESS SCHOLAR REMINDERS

Questions about travel?

Our team will start to book travel one month prior to each different VJKF Program. Our team will reach out to you directly! 

If you have any questions or requests, please email our Program Director, Morgan at: morgan.laboucan@vjkf.org AND Neil Chowdhury at: neil@vjkf.org

Please have your email subject labelled:

TRAVEL - student last name

NEXT STEPS?

1. Students will be emailed a Google Form with the university project descriptions! Students will read through and rank each lab.

2. Students will be informed of their lab placement and will receive any extra forms required for the lab, which will need to be returned to our Program Director!

3. Students and guardians will receive a VJKF Welcome Packet that will contain all relevant information for their VJKF Program.

4. Sign up for your VJKF Program Zoom and attend the Zoom taking place one week prior to your VJKF Program start date!

WEEK 1:

MOUNT SAINT VINCENT UNIVERSITY

HALIFAX, NS

May 12–17, 2024

NEWS

Are you attending the MSVU VJKF Program?

Get ready to dive into the excitement with a special Zoom session just for VJKF students and their parents who are gearing up for the Mount Saint Vincent University 2024 VJKF Program! It's your chance to meet our fantastic VJKF team, who will be with you on campus! Connect with other students, ask questions, and get excited for an unforgettable week ahead! 

Date: Sunday, May 5, 2024

Time: 1pm MDT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET, 4pm ADT


REGISTER WITH THE LINK BELOW

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwkcuGrqjIvHNx2OE9DsFzurWiJSySx03Vt

WEEK 2:

UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

WINNIPEG, MB

May 26–31, 2024

NEWS

Are you attending the UOFM VJKF Program?

Get ready to dive into the excitement with a special Zoom session just for VJKF students and their parents who are gearing up for the University of Manitoba 2024 VJKF Program! It's your chance to meet our fantastic VJKF team, who will be with you on campus! Connect with other students, ask questions, and get excited for an unforgettable week ahead! 

Date: Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Time: 6:30pm PDT, 7:30pm MDT, 8:30pm CT, 9:30pm ET


REGISTER WITH THE LINK BELOW

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcpfu2qrDwuHt2JFEbpOKHPy5v3uIlBigJ-

WEEK 3:

THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

VANCOUVER, BC

JULY 7–12, 2024

NEWS

Are you attending the UBC VJKF Program?

Get ready to dive into the excitement with a special Zoom session just for VJKF students and their parents who are gearing up for The University of British Columbia 2024 VJKF Program! It's your chance to meet our fantastic VJKF team, who will be with you on campus! Connect with other students, ask questions, and get excited for an unforgettable week ahead! 

Date: Sunday, June 30, 2024

Time: 12pm PDT, 1pm MDT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET


REGISTRATION WILL BE AVAILABLE IN JUNE

PROGRAM

Students- our team will reach out to you in June with next steps!

WEEK 4:

 UNIVERSITY OF VICTORIA

VICTORIA, BC

JULY 28–AUGUST 2, 2024

NEWS

Are you attending the UVIC VJKF Program?

Get ready to dive into the excitement with a special Zoom session just for VJKF students and their parents who are gearing up for the University of Victoria 2024 VJKF Program! It's your chance to meet our fantastic VJKF team, who will be with you on campus! Connect with other students, ask questions, and get excited for an unforgettable week ahead! 

Date: Sunday, July 21, 2024

Time: 12pm PDT, 1pm MDT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET


REGISTRATION WILL BE AVAILABLE IN JUNE

EXTRAS

PROGRAM

Students- our team will reach out to you in June with next steps!

WEEK 5:

 UNIVERSITY OF CALGARY

CALGARY, AB

AUGUST 11–16, 2024

NEWS

Are you attending the UOFC VJKF Program?

Get ready to dive into the excitement with a special Zoom session just for VJKF students and their parents who are gearing up for the University of Calgary 2024 VJKF Program! It's your chance to meet our fantastic VJKF team, who will be with you on campus! Connect with other students, ask questions, and get excited for an unforgettable week ahead! 

Date: Sunday, August 4, 2024

Time: 12pm PDT, 1pm MDT, 2pm CT, 3pm ET


REGISTRATION WILL BE AVAILABLE IN JULY

PROGRAM

Students- our team will reach out to you in July with next steps!

KEY SPONSORS

The Verna J. Kirkness Education Foundation logo

To increase the number of Indigenous students graduating from pure and applied science, engineering, and mathematics programs in Canada. Charity Registration #822843629 RR 0001

Picture of student in a lab with a microscope behind them.

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 47092
Calgary RPO Creekside, AB, T3P 0B9

Toll-Free: 1-888-647-1701

Office: (587) 814-0444

Verna J. Kirkness Education Foundation Privacy Policy

Copyright 2022 Verna J. Kirkness Foundation, All Right Reserved 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software